Oyo Assembly confirms three more commissioner-nominees

The Oyo State House of Assembly on Thursday screened and confirmed three additional commissioner- nominees whose names were sent by Governor Seyi Makinde on Monday.

A mild mixed protest rocked the Assembly complex with a group calling for the nullification of the nomination of 27- year- old Oluwaseun Fakorede while another declared support for his nomination.

But the protests seemed to have no effect as the lawmakers confirmed and approved the three nominees at Thursday plenary.

Aside Fakorede, the other nominees screened and confirmed as commissioners include Professor Raphael Afonja and Mrs. Fausat Sani.

READ ALSO: Oyo Assembly allays herdsmen’s fear over anti-open grazing law

While answering question on what she will do to address child abuse in the state, Mrs. Sani advocated strong punishment on whoever violate child’s right and engages in any form of abuse.

When questioned, Afonja stressed the need to support governor Makinde to make Oyo state great again.

Fakorede, while responding to questions from the lawmakers on plans for the state- owned football club, promised to turn the fortunes of Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) around.

He also promised to work tirelessly for the development of youths in the state.

When contacted on calls for nullification of his nomination, Fakorede said the issue was an internal matter that would be settled in due course.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.